For the Love of Pie

There’s something nostalgic about pie. It’s comfort food, loaded with memories, sad and sweet, and seems ever-present where new memories are being made. 

Imagine my delight upon receiving the July issue of Martha Stewart Living (yes, I subscribe and I love it), featuring starry crusts and berry fillings of all sizes on the front! It reminded me that the aforementioned qualities of pie can be experienced simply by looking at it and reading and thinking about it… as well as, of course, eating it. That’s what makes pie good…and good for you. 

 To experience joy in the form of pie, try these things: 

 Art: Wayne Thiebaud 

Paintings of pie. “Pies, Pies, Pies”: (ready-to-be-eaten slices on plates at the diner) is my fave. He said in a New York Times interview that he painted pictures of sweet treats because he had a happy childhood. 

 

Music: Don McLean’s (Bye-bye Miss) “American…”  

Not the Madonna one. Seriously. Don’t. 

 Words: “Blue Plate” byJesse Lee Kercheval 

Love this poem. Earlier this year I learned that there is actually a National Pie Day in January.  At the time I was collecting poems to make my own poem-a-day book. I’d think of a word that went with my experience that day and type it in the search engine on poets.org. This is the poem that came up on Jan. 23 National Pie Day when I typed in ‘pie.’ I think it illustrates the idea of pie being nostalgic. 

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the … 

It’s on its way to me right now at the library.  A mystery novel. Can’t wait to read it!  

 

Food

 Make yourself a little fruity one in a no-guilt 3-inch ramekin. Like this: 

  •  Fill the ramekin (mine are French, pink ceramic Apilco variety from Williams-Sonoma)with fruit (I’ve done apples, peaches, berry mixes, rhubarb & strawberry—they are all delicious.)
  •   

  • Sprinkle with a bit of brown sugar (about a teaspoon) and a couple shakes of cinnamon
  •   

  • Squish together with your fingers ½-1 tbsp flour, brown sugar, cold butter & 5 or 6 chopped almonds or oats and crumble on top
  •   

  • Set it in the oven as it preheats to 350 and keep an eye on it for brown crumbles & bubbling fruit. Mmm-mmm! Got vanilla ice cream? Even better.
  •   

Make Mrs. B.E. Lee’s chocolate pie to share (or not). My mom and I baked this pie one summer night at her home outside of Phoenix. It was hot and then even hotter while the oven was on. After we liberated the pie and allowed it the relief of cooling on the counter, we jumped in the pool for a night swim before eating. A really happy memory for me. See that? Memory-makin’? (it’s the pie…!

And here, directly to you from the 150 Alabama First Lady’s Cook Book published in 1969 on the 150th anniversary of Alabama’s statehood, is the recipe for Mrs. B.E. Lee’s chocolate pie (it’s in the “Pies and Cakes” section; that follows “Candies”): 

1 1/4 cups sugar 

1/3 cup sugar (for meringue) 

1/2 cup cocoa (we use 1/3) 

1/2 cup flour 

2 cups water (we use 1 and 1 c. milk) 

3 egg yolks (reserve whites for meringue) 

1 stick margarine 

1 teaspoon vanilla (never hurts to ‘stub your toe’ with the vanilla, as Great Aunt Amye would say) 

1 9 inch baked pastry shell 

we add a pinch of salt 

Mix sugar, flour and cocoa until smooth. Add water and cook in double boiler until slightly thickened. Then add beaten egg yolks, stirring constantly. Continue to cook until thick. Add vanilla and margarine. Cool. Pour filling into pie shell. Cover with meringue made from egg whites. (As egg whites are beaten, gradually add 1/3 cup sugar.) Bake in a 400 degree oven until brown, approximately 12 minutes. 

 *keep in mind: This pie may not be suitable for company you are trying to impress as we have never een able to get it to set very well; it remains a little pudding-like once it’s cut, but, ohmystars! It is delicious. 

Love pie but don’t wanna make it? Check out Jenn’s review of A la Mode Pies and buy your fave. (Jenn claims not to like pie…this is bizarre and be assured I am investigating… .) 

 Film: 

 (First, the scale: I will really only talk about movies I’d recommend unless I’m asked about something specific. I am about to break that rule, but for good reason, I think. I will explain in a minute. Here is a general guide to how I rate them:  

3=a fun, easy-to-watch movie that looks good and that you can ‘go-to’ when you feel like watching a movie; Generally for me that means it ends well and features likable characters in relatable struggles. I’d see it again with no argument and recommend it without hesitation. (ex: The Devil Wears Prada, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, Office Space, Chocolat) 

4=very entertaining as well as somewhat inspirational, well done and memorable. I would/do own it and would lend it to you because you should see it. (ex: Juno; Amelie; Run Lola Run; Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon; Lars and the Real Girl; Sex and Lucia; Kissing Jessica Stein; To Catch a Thief) 

5=heart-stoppingly, breath-takingly excellent in every way I care about. See this film. Right now. Run. (ex: The Lives of Others; Cherry Blossoms; Rebel Without a Cause; In the Mood for Love) 

Waitress:  

It’s a solid 3. It’s nice to look at, especially the parts when the main character Jenna is making pies. It’s a sad, sweet little movie that’s well acted and competently done. And really starts the wheels to spinnin’ about what kinds of creative culinary combinations you could pour atop a pastry… 

My Blueberry Nights: 

I’d give this a 2, actually. Wouldn’t recommend it for everyone, but it’s interesting that even Wong Kar Wai (for whom I have only bighuge LOVE) can make mistakes; it’s a bit of a puzzle to try and figure what went wrong here and wonder if it would’ve been cooler as a Chinese film with a Chinese cast speaking Cantonese; it’s also kind of fun to see celebrities step out of the roles that made them famous: Nora Jones is the lead actress & Chan Marshall (Catpower) makes an appearance. Her music is also featured.  

There is something endearing about the reference to blueberry pie being almost always left in its entirety among the other more popular desserts at the end of the night. “There’s nothing wrong with the pie,” says Jude Law’s character. “It’s just that people make other choices.” It made me think of the guy behind the counter at Two Tartes bakery during Artopia who recommended the ginger molasses cookie I had. When I asked which one he’d choose, he said that one because ‘it doesn’t get enough love.’ It was the right choice.  

That and the idea that sometimes love comes back around, even if it’s only to give us the chance to say an official farewell. Maybe pie lends itself to this metaphor because it’s round, with no clear starting/stopping place, and filled in the middle instead of frosted on top—like love should be…awwww… ! (If you find yourself aghast at the parallels I’m drawing here, you are not alone. I am frightening myself a little bit.)  

 

Enjoy making pies and memories! 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Art, Film, Food, Music, Words. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For the Love of Pie

  1. Jenn says:

    LOVE this pie post, especially with all the different pie-related tidbits you shared. I’m going to have to check out the Thiebauld book! I still stand by my “not-so-much-into-pie” stance, but, as my review clearly shows, A la Mode Pies is amazing!

  2. d-san says:

    I’d die for one of your pies!

  3. amelia says:

    How delightful. Wish Mrs. B.E Lee was around so I could send this to her. Luv it!

Leave a comment